TEMPORARY PUBLIC ART

We commission and invite artists to create temporary public art that can respond to certain ongoing events and encourage dialogue amongst the community.We commission and invite artists to create temporary public art that can respond to certain ongoing events and encourage dialogue amongst the community.

Martin Creed is a contemporary British artist known for his installations that incorporate vernacular objects. Martin Creed creates works that make people reconsider their understanding of art. Martin Creed’s mutable “Everything is Going to be Alright” installation was newly created for the context of the anniversary of Qatar’s blockade. The installation was originally executed in 1999 and the artwork is one of the great post-conceptualist pieces of the late 20th century. You can view this installation on the outside of AlRiwaq gallery.

Qatari artist Ghada Al Khater displays a neon Sign on the Fire Station Museum Façade to commemorate 1 year of the blockade.

“A Blessing in Disguise” is Ghada’s Arabic answer to Creed’s “Everything is Going to be Alright” which can be viewed at AlRiwaq gallery. The familiar proverb formed a significant part of HH the Emir Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani’s historical speech on July 21st, 2017, in which he addressed the citizens of Qatar for the first time since the start of the blockade. Displayed on the Fire Station’s façade, the sign serves as a simple and gentle reminder that there is always a silver lining.

 

This original part of the Berlin wall was acquired by Qatar Museums as part of Qatar - Germany Year of Culture 2017 and is now situated in Georgetown University, in Education City.

The Berlin Wall was constructed in 1961 to separate West Berlin and East Berlin during the Cold War ultimately creating two separate sides- the democratic West and the communist East. The concrete wall physically and ideologically divided Berlin, standing as a symbol of oppression for almost three decades. The border was opened on 9th November 1989 allowing free movement for German citizens from East to West Berlin.

West Berlin’s side of the wall was full of artwork detailing the German experience, a stark contrast to the East, where citizens were forbidden from nearing the wall. After the fall of the Berlin wall, graffiti became a way in which artists from all around the world would express how they felt about the division of citizens. The wall now carries messages of hope, freedom and change.

Qatar Museums unveils two public art installations by British artist Martin Creed and emerging Qatari ARToonist Ghada Al Khater

Our Blog

2017

His Highness The Father Emir Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani visits ‘Picasso-Giacometti’ exhibition

Sheikh Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani visits ‘Picasso-Giacometti’ exhibition

Read more

1 February 2016

New art at the Airport

We've recently installed two new permanent pieces which are now on display for passengers and visitors to enjoy at the airport.

Read more

8 March 2016

'What About the Art' is coming soon

Preparations are well underway for the opening of a major exhibition from 15 contemporary Chinese artists curated by internationally acclaimed New York based Chinese artist Cai Guo-Qiang. 

Read more

Your Tweets
And Pictures

Have your say

Where would you like to see more public art?

On the waterfront
45%
In the desert
27%
In the city centre
27%

أعمال الفن العام المؤقتة

ندعو الفنانين لإبداع وعرض أعمال فنية مؤقتة في المساحات والفضاءات العامة تُحاكي المستجدات والأحداث الجارية  وتعزز روح المشاركة والحوار داخل المجتمع.

مارتن كريد هو فنان بريطاني معاصر معروف بأعماله الفنية والتركيبية في الفضاء العام والتي يخاطب بها الجمهور بشكل مباشر خارج جدران المتاحف.  يحتفي العمل الفني "كل شيء سيكون على ما يرام" على الواجهة الأمامية لجاليري الرواق والذي أبدعه الفنان البريطاني مارتين كريد، باللحظة الفارقة في تاريخ قطر وذلك بالتزامن مع مرور عام كامل على الحصار المفروض على الدولة. وقد أبدع مارتين هذا العمل في الأصل عام 1999، وهو من أشهر أعمال الفن ما بعد المفاهيمي التي أُنجزَت في أواخر القرن العشرين.

.

الفنانة القطرية غادة الخاطر تُبدع عملاً فنّيًا وهو عبارة عن لافتة مُعلقة على واجهة مبنى مطافئ بالتزامن مع مرور عام كامل على الحصار المفروض على قطر

فعلى غرار العمل الفني لمارتين كريد بعنوان "كل شيء سيكون على ما يُرام" بالرواق، أبدعت الخاطر لافتة ضوئية أيضًا تحمل عبارة "رب ضارة نافعة"، وهي مقولة شائعة استشهد بها صاحب السمو الشيخ تميم بن حمد آل ثاني، أمير البلاد المُفدى، في خطابه التاريخي يوم 21 يوليو 2017 الذي تحدث فيه للمواطنين لأول مرة منذ بداية الحصار. وتُعرض هذه اللافتة على واجهة مبنى "مطافئ: مقر الفنانين" كتذكِرة بسيطة ورقيقة بأنه مع كل محنة منحة.

تم ضم هذا الجزء الأصلي من جدار برلين  إلى مقتنيات متاحف قطر كجزء من العام الثقافي قطر- ألمانيا 2017، وهو الآن في جامعة جورج تاون بالمدينة التعليمية.

تم تشييد جدار برلين عام 1961 لفصل برلين الغربية وبرلين الشرقية خلال الحرب الباردة، مما أدى إلى تقسيم العاصمة الألمانية إلى شقين، هما برلين الشرقية الشيوعية، وبرلين الغربية الديمقراطية. قسَّمَ الجدار الإسمنتي برلين مادّيًا وإيديولوجيًّا، حيث مثَّل رمزًا للظلم والاستبداد طوال ما يقرب من ثلاثة عقود. وقد تم فتح الحدود في 9 نوفمبر 1989 مما سمح بحرية حركة المواطنين الألمان من برلين الشرقية إلى برلين الغربية.

كان جزء الجدار من ناحية برلين الغربية مليئاً بالأعمال الفنية التي تصف التجربة الألمانية، وهو تناقض صارخ مع الجانب الشرقي للمدينة، حيث كان يُمنع المواطنين من الاقتراب من الجدار. بعد سقوط جدار برلين ، أصبحت الكتابة على الجدران طريقة يعبر بها الفنانون من جميع أنحاء العالم عن شعورهم حيال تقسيم وفصل مواطني البلد الواحد. يحمل الجدار الآن رسائل الأمل والحرية والتغيير.

مدونتنا

2021

مال لوّل 3: وجهة مميّزة لعشاق السيّارات الكلاسيكية والمقتنيات

يضم المعرض سيارات علامات عالمية مثل رولز رويس، وبي إم دبليو، وجاغوار، وفورد، وشيفروليه، ودودج، وتويوتا، وجي إم سي، وغيرها. ويقدّم المعرض في مرحلته الأولى 15 سيارة يعود تاريخ صناعة أقدمها إلى فترة الخمسينيات.

اقرأ المزيد

2021

الفن العام: إبداع يبث الحياة والألوان في المساحات العامة

مع اكتمال جداريات برنامج "جداري آرت" نأخذكم في رحلة شيقة بين أعمال الفن العام المنتشرة في قطر

اقرأ المزيد

21 يناير 2021

عملة 200 ريال الجديدة.. تحمل من متاحف قطر بصمة الفن والثقافة والتراث

لوحات جميلة مستوحاة من حياتنا اليومية، وألوان تمّ اختيارها بدقة  كبيرة، وأنواع خط متنوعة تعكس جمال الخط العربي.. تصميمات الأوارق النقدية الجديدة عمل فني متكامل نتعرّف على تفاصيله مع السيّد محمد جاسم الكواري، المدير التنفيذي لقطاع الدين العام والشؤون المصرفية والإصدار في مصرف قطر المركزي.

اقرأ المزيد

عبر عن رأيك

أين ترغب أن ترى المزيد من أعمال الفن العام؟

في الصحراء
0%
في وسط المدينة
0%
على الواجهة البحريّة
0%

اكتشف المزيد

شارك هذه الصفحة