All Exhibitions

Syria Matters

22 November 2018 - 30 April 2019

Over the last seven years and more, Syria has undergone one of the worst human tragedies in living memory. This once proud and splendid country with its fabled cities of Damascus and Aleppo has been largely destroyed and great parts of its population have fled in one of the major refugee-migrations of recent history. Syria’s fate concerns everyone, but especially its neighbours in the Middle East. It is for this reason the Museum of Islamic Art in Doha presents “Syria Matters” to highlight the extraordinary cultural heritage of this country, and at the same time plead to safeguard this unique legacy in danger.

“Syria Matters” will explore five periods of Syria’s history, illuminating its key role in the artistic and intellectual history of the world. It is a journey through time and space featuring immersive and innovative digital renderings of key sites by the French company ICONEM and showcasing over 120 objects including some of MIA’s greatest collection highlights such as the famous Cavour vase as well as significant national and international loans from Istanbul, St. Petersburg, Berlin, London and Paris. Visitors will leave with a deep understanding and connection to Syria and an appreciation of how the continuing destruction affects us all.

Museum of Islamic Art

Designed by Pritzker Prize-winning architect I.M. Pei, the Museum is comprised of a main building with an adjacent education wing connected by a large central courtyard. The main building rises five-storeys, topped by a high domed atrium within a central tower.
Louis-François Cassas (French, 1756-1827); View of the Ancient City of Palmyra from the Necropolis 1785; watercolour, pen and brown ink on paper; 64 x 88 cm; OM.888, National Collection of Qatar.
Louis-François Cassas (French, 1756-1827); View of the Ancient City of Palmyra from the Necropolis 1785; watercolour, pen and brown ink on paper; 64 x 88 cm; OM.888, National Collection of Qatar.
Gustav Bauernfeind (German, 1848-1904), Damaskus [North Gate of the Great Mosque of Damascus] (detail), 1890, Oil on panel  121 x 96.5 cm Orientalist Museum, OM.699, National Collection of Qatar.
Gustav Bauernfeind (German, 1848-1904), Damaskus [North Gate of the Great Mosque of Damascus] (detail), 1890, Oil on panel 121 x 96.5 cm Orientalist Museum, OM.699, National Collection of Qatar.
Cavour Vase; Syria, 14th century; free-blown cobalt blue glass, enamelled and gilded; H: 24.5; MIA, GL.6.1998
Cavour Vase; Syria, 14th century; free-blown cobalt blue glass, enamelled and gilded; H: 24.5; MIA, GL.6.1998
Copy of Muhammad ibn Yaʿqub al-Firuzabadi, al-Qamus al-Muhit; Mamluk; Syria or Egypt; dated AH 11 shaʿban 791 (5th August 1389 CE); black ink and gold pigments on paper; 26.5 x 17 cm; MIA, MS.322.2000
Copy of Muhammad ibn Yaʿqub al-Firuzabadi, al-Qamus al-Muhit; Mamluk; Syria or Egypt; dated AH 11 shaʿban 791 (5th August 1389 CE); black ink and gold pigments on paper; 26.5 x 17 cm; MIA, MS.322.2000
Andrea Soldi (Italian, 1703-1771); A Merchant of the Levant Company, Aleppo beyond; 1750; oil on canvas; 102 x 82 cm; OM.868, National Collection of Qatar.
Andrea Soldi (Italian, 1703-1771); A Merchant of the Levant Company, Aleppo beyond; 1750; oil on canvas; 102 x 82 cm; OM.868, National Collection of Qatar.

Your Tweets
And Pictures

جميع المعارض

سوريا سلاماً

23 نوفمبر 2018 – 30 ابريل 2019

على مدى السنوات السبع الماضية، عانت سوريا واحدة من أسوأ المآسي الإنسانية التي عرفتها الذاكرة الحيّة. فقد شهد هذا البلد الذي عُرف بالجمال والعزّة وبحاضرتيه الأسطوريتين دمشق وحلب، دماراً واسعاً وهجرةً كبيرة طالت أعداداً كبيرة من سكانه في واحدة من أكبر هجرات اللجوء في التاريخ الحديث. إن مصير سوريا أمر يؤرِّق الجميع خصوصاً جيرانها من دول الشرق الأوسط. ولهذا السبب يقدم متحف الفن الإسلامي في الدوحة معرض " سوريا سلاماً" الذي يضيء على الإرث الثقافي النادر لهذا البلد، ويدعو إلى  حماية هذا التراث الفريد من المخاطر المحيقة به.

يركّز معرض " سوريا سلاماً" على خمس فترات من تاريخ سوريا، توضح الدور المهم الذي لعبه هذا البلد في التاريخ الفني والفكري للعالم. المعرض رحلة في الزمان والمكان، يقدم عروضاً رقمية رائعة ومبتكرة للمواقع الرئيسية من تنفيذ شركة ICONEM الفرنسية، ويعرض أكثر من 120 قطعة فنية بما فيها بعض أهم مقتنيات متحف الفن الإسلامي مثل مزهرية كافور الشهيرة، بالإضافة إلى العديد من القطع الرائعة التي استُقدمت على سبيل القرض من أهم المتاحف العالمية في اسطنبول وسانت بطرسبورغ وبرلين ولندن وباريس. بعد زيارة المعرض يخرج الزائر حاملاً في جعبته تقديراً عميقاً لتاريخ سوريا العريق، وإدراكاً لخطورة استمرار الاقتتال في هذا البلد الجميل، وتأثير هذا الدمار على العالم أجمع.  

متحف الفن الإسلامي

صمم المتحف المعماري الشهير آي. إم. باي الحائز على جائزة بريتزكر، حيث يتألف هذا الصرح من بناء رئيسي يجاوره جناح للتعليم يتصل به من خلال ساحة مركزية ضخمة. يتكوّن البناء الرئيسي من خمسة طوابق تعلوها قبة الردهة الشامخة ضمن برج مركزي.
لوي – فرانسوا كاساس (فرنسي، 1756 – 1827)، منظر لمدينة تدمر الأثرية من المدينة الجنائزية 1785، ألوان مائية، قلم حبر بني على ورق 64 × 88 سم، متحف المستشرقين OM.888، مجموعة قطر الوطنية.
لوي – فرانسوا كاساس (فرنسي، 1756 – 1827)، منظر لمدينة تدمر الأثرية من المدينة الجنائزية 1785، ألوان مائية، قلم حبر بني على ورق 64 × 88 سم، متحف المستشرقين OM.888، مجموعة قطر الوطنية.
غوستاف باويرفيند (ألماني، 1848 – 1904)، دمشق [البوابة الشمالية للجامع الأموي في دمشق] (تفصيل)، 1890، ألوان زيتية على لوح 121 × 965 سم، متحف المستشرقين  OM.699، مجموعة قطر الوطنية.
غوستاف باويرفيند (ألماني، 1848 – 1904)، دمشق [البوابة الشمالية للجامع الأموي في دمشق] (تفصيل)، 1890، ألوان زيتية على لوح 121 × 965 سم، متحف المستشرقين OM.699، مجموعة قطر الوطنية.
Enameled and Gilded Glass Vase known as "The Cavour Vase"; Mamluk, Egypt or Syria, 13th centuryمزهرية كافور، سوريا، القرن الرابع عشر، زجاج منفوخ باللون الأزرق الكوبالتي، مع طلاء بالمينا والذهب، الطول: 24.5، متحف الفن الإسلامي GL.6.1998
مزهرية كافور، سوريا، القرن الرابع عشر، زجاج منفوخ باللون الأزرق الكوبالتي، مع طلاء بالمينا والذهب، الطول: 24.5، متحف الفن الإسلامي GL.6.1998
نسخة من كتاب محمد بن يعقوب الفيروزابادي، القاموس المحيط، الفترة المملوكية، سوريا أو مصر، بتاريخ 11 شعبان 791 هـ (5 أغسطس 1389 م)، حبر أسود وأصبغة ذهبية على ورق، 26.5 × 17 سم، متحف الفن الإسلامي  MS.322.2000
نسخة من كتاب محمد بن يعقوب الفيروزابادي، القاموس المحيط، الفترة المملوكية، سوريا أو مصر، بتاريخ 11 شعبان 791 هـ (5 أغسطس 1389 م)، حبر أسود وأصبغة ذهبية على ورق، 26.5 × 17 سم، متحف الفن الإسلامي MS.322.2000
أندريا سولدي (إيطالي، 1703 – 1771)، تاجر من شركة المشرق، حلب بعد العام 1750، لوحة زيتية على قماش، 102 ×82 سم، متحف المستشرقين  OM.868، مجموعة قطر الوطنية.
أندريا سولدي (إيطالي، 1703 – 1771)، تاجر من شركة المشرق، حلب بعد العام 1750، لوحة زيتية على قماش، 102 ×82 سم، متحف المستشرقين OM.868، مجموعة قطر الوطنية.

التغريدات والصور

Browse through our Social Media Hub to get the latest QM news and discussions. Connect here https://t.co/K6OQ4bq9fR https://t.co/H6ETEQEmos
24 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017
تصفح مواقعنا للتواصل الإجتماعي لمعرفة آخر أخبارنا. اضغط هنا للتواصل: https://t.co/K6OQ4bq9fR https://t.co/HYWT9ZlziP
24 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017
5 Years of Building Bridges between Nations https://t.co/zC8TGtlkSA
23 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017
5 سنوات: بناء جسور التواصل بين الشعوب والأمم https://t.co/zC8TGtlkSA
23 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017