All Exhibitions

Project Space 12 Bouthayna Al-Muftah: Echoes

11 July - 10 September 2018

The work of Bouthayna Al-Muftah (b. 1987) interrogates stories and practices from Qatari cultural heritage by archiving collective memories and personal encounters using various artistic media including drawing, printmaking and installation.

Echoe​s is a prolongation of Al-Muftah’s ongoing research on the recollection of memories and stories that she documents as a continuous autobiography based on personal encounters and family stories.

In this artistic experiment, she distinctively reflects on the rapid social and cultural changes that have taken place in her surroundings in a short period of time. Al-Muftah utilizes the space to evoke shared local memories and question current local cultural practices visibly influenced by technology with an ever growing focus on individualism. In order to highlight this challenging topic the artist contextualizes the lyrical traditional game ‘tag ‘tag ‘tagya*’ and deconstructs its forms to redefine cultural narratives, offering a symbolic experience in a space in which the past and the present intersect.

The artistic process and methodology are prominently prioritized in this space. This is exaggerated by integrating different materials to the project, such as sound, wall mirrors and canvas floor, through which the artist interrogates the perception and the use of traditional collective stories in the context of the contemporary.

* ‘tag ‘tag ‘tagya is the first phrase of a song used in a traditional group game played by boys and girls from different parts of the Arabian Gulf.

About the Artist

Bouthayna Al-Muftah (b.1987 Tunis) is a Qatari artist. She received her BA from Virginia Commonwealth University School of Arts, Qatar in 2010. Upon her graduation, Al-Muftah focused her artistic practice on printmaking, typography, and drawing which evolved into multiple mixed media installations. To reconstruct past experiences into contemporary settings, Al-Muftah often finds folkloric characters and stories and transforms them into her own artistic projects.

Mathaf: Arab Museum of Modern Art

Mathaf: Arab Museum of Modern Art, founded in 2010, is situated in Education City in Qatar Foundation (QF), in a renovated former school building. QF is led by HH Sheikha Moza bint Nasser. Mathaf is part of Qatar Museums, led by H.E. Sheikha al-Mayassa bint Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani.
Portrait of Bouthayna Al-Muftah, 2016. Photographed by Jan Clos
Portrait of Bouthayna Al-Muftah, 2016. Photographed by Jan Clos
Drawing from Echoes (sketch of Tag Tag Tagiya installation), 2018, ink on paper, 22 x 30 cm
Drawing from the series 'Traditional Games', 2018, ink on paper, 22 x 30 cm
Drawing from the series 'Traditional Games', 2018, ink on paper, 22 x 30 cm
Drawing from 'Al Hiya Biya' series, 2017, ink on paper, 15 x 21 cm
Drawing from 'Al Hiya Biya' series, 2017, ink on paper, 15 x 21 cm

Your Tweets
And Pictures

جميع المعارض

فضاء المشاريع 12 "بثينه المفتاح: أصداء"

11 يوليو - 10 سبتمبر 2018

 تحاور بثينة المفتاح (المولودة عام 1987)  في أعمالها قصصاً وممارسات من التراث الثقافي القطري حيث تقوم بأرشفة الذكريات الجماعية واللقاءات الشخصية باستخدام أساليب فنية مختلفة بما في ذلك الرسومات ، والطباعة، والتراكيب الفنية.

"أصداء" هو امتداد لأبحاث المفتاح حول تجميع الذكريات والقصص التي وثقتها بالصور والكتابة من ذويها ومن لقاءاتها بمحيطها فهي بمثابة سير ذاتية جماعية ممتدة. تشير الفنانة في هذه التجربة بشكل خاص إلى التغيرات الإجتماعية والثقافية السريعة التي حدثت في محيطها  في فترة قصيرة من الزمن حيث تثير المفتاح الذكريات المحلية المشتركة وتستجوب الممارسات الثقافية المحلية الحالية المتأثرة بشكل ملحوظ بالتكنولوجيا مع التركيز المتزايد على الفردية. ومن أجل تسليط الضوء على هذا الموضوع المليء بالتحدي ، تقوم الفنانة بتأطير اللعبة التقليدية "طاق طاق طاقية"، وتفكيك أشكالها لإعادة صياغة السرد الثقافي، ولتقديم تجربة رمزية في هذا الفضاء الذي يتقاطع فيه الماضي مع الحاضر.

في هذا المشروع التجريبي، تمنح الفنانة الأولوية للمنهجية والمعالجة الفنية. وما يزيد من التركيز على هذا، استخدام الفنانة لوسائط مختلفة في تنفيذ المشروع، كالمرايا الجدارية والأرضية القماشية، والتي من خلالها تستجوب المفتاح  الإدراك المفاهيمي و القصص الجماعية القديمة في سياق  الزمن المعاصر.

"طاق طاق طاقية" هي الجملة الأولى من أغنية لعبة جماعية تقليدية للفتيان والفتيات في مختلف أرجاء منطقة الخليج العربي.

نبذة عن الفنانة

بثينه المفتاح هي فنانة قطرية وُلدت في تونس سنة 1987. نالت درجة البكالوريوس من كلية الفنون جامعة فيرجينيا كومنويلث في قطر سنة 2010. تتمحور أعمال الفنانة منذ تخرّجها على الطباعة الفنية والتيبوغرافي والرسم، وتطوّرت لتصبح بمثابة أعمال تجهيزية تشمل على استخدام وسائط متعددة. بغرض  تقديم تجارب من الماض ضمن سياقات معاصرة، غالباً ما تلجأ الفنانة إلى شخوص وحكايات فولوكلورية وتعيد قراءتها أو محاكاتها  في مشاريعها الفنية. 

متحف: المتحف العربي للفن الحديث

يضم متحف: المتحف العربي للفن الحديث مجموعة فريدة من المقتنيات الحديثة والمعاصرة ذات المستوى العالمي من العالم العربي، وما يدور في فلكه على المستويين التاريخي والثقافي.
صورة لبثينة المفتاح، 2016. تصوير جان كلوس
صورة لبثينة المفتاح، 2016. تصوير جان كلوس
رسم من "أصداء" (مخطط للعمل التركيبي "طاق طاق طاقية")، 2018، حبر على ورق، 22 x 30 cm
رسم ن سلسلة "الألعاب التقليدية"، 2018، حبر على ورق،   22 x 30 cm
رسم ن سلسلة "الألعاب التقليدية"، 2018، حبر على ورق، 22 x 30 cm
رسم ن سلسلة "الألعاب التقليدية"، 2018، حبر على ورق،   22 x 30 cm
رسم ن سلسلة "الألعاب التقليدية"، 2018، حبر على ورق، 22 x 30 cm

التغريدات والصور

Browse through our Social Media Hub to get the latest QM news and discussions. Connect here https://t.co/K6OQ4bq9fR https://t.co/H6ETEQEmos
24 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017
تصفح مواقعنا للتواصل الإجتماعي لمعرفة آخر أخبارنا. اضغط هنا للتواصل: https://t.co/K6OQ4bq9fR https://t.co/HYWT9ZlziP
24 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017
5 Years of Building Bridges between Nations https://t.co/zC8TGtlkSA
23 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017
5 سنوات: بناء جسور التواصل بين الشعوب والأمم https://t.co/zC8TGtlkSA
23 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017