All Exhibitions

Mounira Al Solh: I strongly believe in our right to be frivolous

17 October 2018 – 16 February 2019

Atrium and Galleries 3 and 5

Curated by Hendrik Folkerts (Art Institute of Chicago) and Laura Barlow (Mathaf: Arab Museum of Modern Art)

In the ongoing series I strongly believe in our right to be frivolous, Mounira Al Solh collects personal histories and experiences that emerge from the humanitarian and political crises in Syria and the Middle East. Born in Beirut to a Lebanese father and a Syrian mother, the artist began the series in 2012, shortly after the popular uprising in Syria that led to the ongoing Syrian war. These drawings document private encounters and conversations between herself and those fleeing the war in Syria –forcibly displaced to Lebanon, Europe and the United States. The more than one hundred and fifty portraits displayed in the exhibition chronicle individual accounts of departure, arrival, trauma and uncertainty. The embroideries in the series are made through collaborative work with women in refugee and minority communities to represent the shared stories of families or groups of people, rather than the individual accounts in the portraits. The most recent addition to the project is Sperveri, a bed-tent installation that serves as a commemorative monument to those lost and deceased.

Al Solh lives and works between Lebanon and the Netherlands. Exploring the weight of our histories with a humorous and often self-reflective approach, her work can be deeply political – yet also fictional and fantasized.

Mathaf: Arab Museum of Modern Art

Founded in 2010, is situated in Education City in Qatar Foundation (QF), in a renovated former school building. QF is led by HH Sheikha Moza bint Nasser.

Mounira Al Solh, Sperveri, 2017 (front), embroidery and mixed media on linen and cotton, various dimensions and My speciality was to make a peasants’ haircut, but they obliged me work till midnight often, 2014–2017 (back), textile collages with hand- and machine stitched embroidery and mixed media, various dimensions. Installation photograph of Mounira Al Solh: I strongly believe in our right to be frivolous, February 8 - April 29, 2018, Art Institute of Chicago. Image courtesy of the Art Institute of Chicago.

Mounira Al Solh, 'Sperveri', 2017 (front), embroidery and mixed media on linen and cotton, various dimensions and My speciality was to make a peasants’ haircut, but they obliged me work till midnight often, 2014–2017 (back), textile collages with hand- and machine stitched embroidery and mixed, various dimensions. Installation photograph of Mounira Al Solh: I strongly believe in our right to be frivolous, February 8 - April 29, 2018, Art Institute of Chicago. Image courtesy of the Art Institute of Chicago.

Mounira Al Solh, I strongly believe in our right to be frivolous, 2012-ongoing. Mixed media on legal paper, various dimensions. Installation photograph of Mounira Al Solh: I strongly believe in our right to be frivolous, February 8 - April 29, 2018, Art Institute of Chicago. Image courtesy of the Art Institute of Chicago.

Mounira Al Solh, I strongly believe in our right to be frivolous, 2012-ongoing. Mixed media on legal paper, various dimensions. Installation photograph of Mounira Al Solh: I strongly believe in our right to be frivolous, February 8 - April 29, 2018, Art Institute of Chicago. Image courtesy of the Art Institute of Chicago.

Mounira Al Solh, I strongly believe in our right to be frivolous, 2012–ongoing. Mixed media on legal paper, various dimensions. Courtesy of the artist and Sfeir-Semler Gallery.

Mounira Al Solh, I strongly believe in our right to be frivolous 2012–ongoing. Mixed media on legal paper, various dimensions. Courtesy of the artist and Sfeir-Semler Gallery.

Mounira Al Solh, I strongly believe in our right to be frivolous, 2012–ongoing. Mixed media on legal paper, various dimensions. Courtesy of the artist and Sfeir-Semler Gallery.

Mounira Al Solh, I strongly believe in our right to be frivolous 2012–ongoing. Mixed media on legal paper, various dimensions. Courtesy of the artist and Sfeir-Semler Gallery.

Mounira Al Solh, I strongly believe in our right to be frivolous, 2012–ongoing. Mixed media on legal paper, various dimensions. Courtesy of the artist and Sfeir-Semler Gallery.

Mounira Al Solh, I strongly believe in our right to be frivolous 2012–ongoing. Mixed media on legal paper, various dimensions. Courtesy of the artist and Sfeir-Semler Gallery.

Mounira Al Solh, I strongly believe in our right to be frivolous, 2012–ongoing. Mixed media on legal paper, various dimensions. Courtesy of the artist and Sfeir-Semler Gallery.

Mounira Al Solh, I strongly believe in our right to be frivolous 2012–ongoing. Mixed media on legal paper, various dimensions. Courtesy of the artist and Sfeir-Semler Gallery.

Your Tweets
And Pictures

جميع المعارض

مُنيرة الصُّلْح: أؤمن بشِدَّة بحقِّنا في أن نكون طائشين

17 أكتوبر 2018 - 16 فبراير 2019

الردهة والقاعات 3 و5

قيِّما المعرض: هندريك فولكرتس (معهد شيكاغو للفنون)، ولورا بارلو (متحف: المتحف العربي للفن الحديث) 

في سلسلتها المستمرة "كُلّي إيمان في حقّنا بالطَيْش"، تَجمَع مُنيرة الصُّلْح تجارب وسجلات شخصية من الأزمات الإنسانية والسياسية التي تشهدها سوريا والشرق الأوسط. وُلدت مُنيرة في بيروت لأب لبناني وأم سورية، وقد استهلّت سلسلتها هذه سنة 2012 بُعيد اندلاع الانتفاضة الشعبية السورية التي تحوَّلت إلى حرب تعصف بالبلاد. توثِّق هذه السلسلة من الرسومات تجارب وحوارات شخصية للفنانة مع أولئك الذين فَرُّوا من الحرب في سوريا ونزحوا إلى لبنان وأوروبا والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. تسرد البورتريهات المقدّمة في المعرض، والتي يزيد عددها عن 150، ما لاقاه أولئك خلال الرحيل والوصول لبلد النزوح والعيش في حالة من الصدمة وعدم اليقين. تم إعداد الأعمال المُطرَّزة بالتعاون مع نساء لاجئات أو ينتمين لأقليات مجتمعية، وتهدف لتقديم حكايات تتشارك بها العائلات ومجموعات الأشخاص، وليس مجرّد قصص فردية، على عكس ما هو عليه الحال في أعمال البورتريه. أما عملها "سبيرفيري" فهو عبارة عن خيمة سرير تُكرِّم فيها أولئك الذين فقدناهم وخسروا أرواحهم.

تعيش الصُّلْح وتعمل بين لبنان وهولندا. ومن خلال مقاربات تحمل روح الدعابة وتنطوي على تأمُّل ذاتي، تتعمّقُ الصُّلْح في الأثر الذي يتركه إرثنا التاريخي وهو ما يجعل أعمالها سياسية في جوهرها، ولكنها في الوقت نفسه تحمل أبعاداً خيالية. 

متحف: المتحف العربي للفن الحديث

متحف: المتحف العربي للفن الحديث يضم متحف: المتحف العربي للفن الحديث مجموعة فريدة من المقتنيات الحديثة والمعاصرة ذات المستوى العالمي من العالم العربي، وما يدور في فلكه على المستويين التاريخي والثقافي.

منيرة الصلح، "سبيرفيري"، 2017 (لقطة أمامية). تطريز ومواد متعددة على كتّان وقطن، أبعاد مختلفة و"تسريحة فلّاحيّة في منتصف الليل"، 2014 - 2017 (لقطة خلفية)، مجموعة أعمال منسوجة يدوياً أو آلياً، مع مواد متعددة، أبعاد مختلفة. صورة للعملين من معرض "مُنيرة الصُّلْح: أؤمن بشِدَّة بحقِّنا في أن نكون طائشين"، 8 فبراير - 29 أبريل 2018، معهد شيكاغو للفنون. تُنشر الصورة بإذن من معهد شيكاغو للفنون.

Mounira Al Solh, Sperveri, 2017 (front), embroidery and mixed media on linen and cotton, various dimensions and My speciality was to make a peasants’ haircut, but they obliged me work till midnight often, 2014–2017 (back), textile collages with hand- and machine stitched embroidery and mixed, various dimensions. Installation photograph of Mounira Al Solh: I strongly believe in our right to be frivolous, February 8 - April 29, 2018, Art Institute of Chicago. Image courtesy of the Art Institute of Chicago.

منيرة الصلح، "كُلِّي إيمانٌ في حقِّنا بالطَّيْش"، 2012 - الآن. مواد متعددة على أوراق مستندات إدارية، أبعاد مختلفة. صورة للعمل من معرض "مُنيرة الصُّلْح: أؤمن بشِدَّة بحقِّنا في أن نكون طائشين"، 8 فبراير - 29 أبريل 2018، معهد شيكاغو للفنون. تُنشر الصورة بإذن من معهد شيكاغو للفنون.

Mounira Al Solh, I strongly believe in our right to be frivolous, 2012-ongoing. Mixed media on legal paper, various dimensions. Installation photograph of Mounira Al Solh: I strongly believe in our right to be frivolous, February 8 - April 29, 2018, Art Institute of Chicago. Image courtesy of the Art Institute of Chicago.
منيرة الصلح، "كُلِّي إيمانٌ في حقِّنا بالطَّيْش"، 2012 - الآن. مواد متعددة على أوراق مستندات إدارية، أبعاد مختلفة. بإذن من الفنانة وصفير زملر غاليري.
منيرة الصلح، "كُلِّي إيمانٌ في حقِّنا بالطَّيْش"، 2012 - الآن. مواد متعددة على أوراق مستندات إدارية، أبعاد مختلفة. بإذن من الفنانة وصفير زملر غاليري.
منيرة الصلح، "كُلِّي إيمانٌ في حقِّنا بالطَّيْش"، 2012 - الآن. مواد متعددة على أوراق مستندات إدارية، أبعاد مختلفة. بإذن من الفنانة وصفير زملر غاليري.
منيرة الصلح، "كُلِّي إيمانٌ في حقِّنا بالطَّيْش"، 2012 - الآن. مواد متعددة على أوراق مستندات إدارية، أبعاد مختلفة. بإذن من الفنانة وصفير زملر غاليري.
منيرة الصلح، "كُلِّي إيمانٌ في حقِّنا بالطَّيْش"، 2012 - الآن. مواد متعددة على أوراق مستندات إدارية، أبعاد مختلفة. بإذن من الفنانة وصفير زملر غاليري.
منيرة الصلح، "كُلِّي إيمانٌ في حقِّنا بالطَّيْش"، 2012 - الآن. مواد متعددة على أوراق مستندات إدارية، أبعاد مختلفة. بإذن من الفنانة وصفير زملر غاليري.
منيرة الصلح، "كُلِّي إيمانٌ في حقِّنا بالطَّيْش"، 2012 - الآن. مواد متعددة على أوراق مستندات إدارية، أبعاد مختلفة. بإذن من الفنانة وصفير زملر غاليري.
منيرة الصلح، "كُلِّي إيمانٌ في حقِّنا بالطَّيْش"، 2012 - الآن. مواد متعددة على أوراق مستندات إدارية، أبعاد مختلفة. بإذن من الفنانة وصفير زملر غاليري.

التغريدات والصور

Browse through our Social Media Hub to get the latest QM news and discussions. Connect here https://t.co/K6OQ4bq9fR https://t.co/H6ETEQEmos
24 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017
تصفح مواقعنا للتواصل الإجتماعي لمعرفة آخر أخبارنا. اضغط هنا للتواصل: https://t.co/K6OQ4bq9fR https://t.co/HYWT9ZlziP
24 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017
5 Years of Building Bridges between Nations https://t.co/zC8TGtlkSA
23 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017
5 سنوات: بناء جسور التواصل بين الشعوب والأمم https://t.co/zC8TGtlkSA
23 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017