POUCE (THUMB)

1965-2016

The installation of César's "Pouce" in Souq Waqif continues the program of installations by major artists at unexpected locations throughout Qatar. 

Bronze with gold patina

The installation of César's "Pouce" in Souq Waqif continues the program of installations by major artists at unexpected locations throughout Qatar. The location of Souq Waqif was selected by Qatar Museums for Pouce to act as a landmark of modern art in the heart of the city, combing the traditional with the contemporary. The exact location was chosen because of its intimacy at a crossroads, emphasising the scale of the work in relation to the surrounding buildings and the juxtaposition of the sculpture on the streetscape of cafes. At night, the highly polished bronze patina of the sculpture will complement the glow of street lighting at this site, and during the day the work will be visible from numerous angles and street views. As such the work at this location becomes an important marker, a familiar spot where people will agree to meet. It will also provide an important location for tourists and visitors, and will become a stop within public art tours that reflect upon both the art and the diverse public spaces of the city.

LABEL

César Baldaccini (1921-1998) was born of Italian parents in Marseilles, France. He was an important figure in the French 1960s art movement Noveau Réalisme, emphasizing the use of everyday objects over traditional art materials.

The original cast of the artist’s own thumb was first produced for an exhibition on the theme of hands titled ‘Le Main’ in 1965, in Paris. The artist then made a series of increasingly larger versions of the thumb, scaling-up the smaller model using traditional techniques. The motif of the thumb has since become the most well-known of the artist’s subjects.

Our Blog

18 May 2020

A SPOTLIGHT ON FEMALE LEADERS AT QM, PT.2

Check out the second part of our series about remarkable female leaders who are making an impact at QM. Read about their challenges, inspiration, advice and more.

Read more

21 May 2020

MUSEUM OF ISLAMIC ART'S QUR’AN MANUSCRIPTS

Get an exclusive look at some of the most beautiful and historic Qur’an manuscripts from the Islamic world.

Read more

4 June 2020

M7: Qatar’s New Creative Hub

A Q&A with Maha Al Sulaiti, M7's Acting Director.

Read more

Your Tweets
And Pictures

برونز مع باتينا مذهبة

يواصل العمل الفني’ الإبهام‘  للفنان سيزار في سوق واقف مسيرة تشييد الأعمال الفنية لكبراء الفنانين في مواقع غير متوقعة في جميع أنحاء قطر.  

Bronze with gold patina

يواصل العمل الفني’ الإبهام‘  للفنان سيزار في سوق واقف مسيرة تشييد الأعمال الفنية لكبراء الفنانين في مواقع غير متوقعة في جميع أنحاء قطر. ولقد تم اختيار موقع سوق واقف من قِبَل متاحف قطر ل’الإبهام’ ليكون بمثابة معلم للفن الحديث في قلب المدينة ، حيث يمزج بين التقليدي والمعاصر. تم اختيار الموقع الدقيق لألفته عند مفترق طرق مؤكداً على حجم العمل وعلاقته بالمباني المحيطة ومجاورته للشوارع والمقاهي. وفي أثناء الليل ستكمل المنحوتة البرونزية المصقولة بعناية توهج إنارة الشوارع في هذا الموقع ، وخلال النهار سيكون العمل مرئيًا من زوايا وإطلالات عديدة على الشارع. وعلى هذا النحو، يصبح العمل في هذا الموقع علامة مهمة ومكانًا مألوفًا حيث يتفق الناس على الالتقاء عنده. سيقوم العمل الفني أيضًا بتوفير موقعًا مهمًا للسياح والزائرين، وسيصبح نقطة توقف ضمن جولات الفن العام التي تعكس كل من الفن والمساحات العامة المتنوعة في المدينة .

LABEL

ولد سيزار بالداتشيني (1921-1998) من أبوين إيطاليين في مرسيليا بفرنسا. كان من أبرز الشخصيات الفنية في الحركة الفنية الفرنسية “الواقعية الجديدة” التي اشتهرت  خلال فترة الستينيات، حيث عُرف عنه التركيز على استخدام الأشياء اليومية بدلاً من المواد الفنية التقليدية.

تم إنتاج القالب الأول لإبهام الفنان لأول مرة في معرض حول موضوع الأيدي بعنوان «اليد» في عام 1965 ، في باريس. قام الفنان بعد ذلك بسلسلة من النسخ الأكبر من منحوتة الإبهام ، وتوسيع النموذج الأصغر باستخدام التقنيات التقليدية. ومنذ ذلك الحين ، أصبح شكل الإبهام هو الأكثر شهرة من بين موضوعات الفنان

مدونتنا

30 أبريل 2020

قطر تبدع: فن التواصل

تعرّفوا معنا عن المقاربة التي يتبناها فنانون معروفون، مثل أولافور إلياسون وجيف كونز وغادة الخاطر وغيرهم، بخصوص العلاقة بينهم وبين جمهورهم. 

اقرأ المزيد

20 اغسطس 2020

تعبيرات عن المشاعر

هل تساءلت يومًا كيف يختار الفنانون ألوانهم؟ . انضم إلينا ونحن نستكشف تأثير اللون من خلال مقابلة حصرية مع ثلاثة فنانين من المشاركين في برنامج الإقامة الفنية بمطافئ: مقر الفنانين.

اقرأ المزيد

10 مايو 2020

أخبار ونشاطات متاحف قطر

تعرّفوا على أحدث الأخبار وكونوا على تواصل دائم مع متاحف قطر

اقرأ المزيد

التغريدات والصور

Browse through our Social Media Hub to get the latest QM news and discussions. Connect here https://t.co/K6OQ4bq9fR https://t.co/H6ETEQEmos
24 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017
تصفح مواقعنا للتواصل الإجتماعي لمعرفة آخر أخبارنا. اضغط هنا للتواصل: https://t.co/K6OQ4bq9fR https://t.co/HYWT9ZlziP
24 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017
5 Years of Building Bridges between Nations https://t.co/zC8TGtlkSA
23 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017
5 سنوات: بناء جسور التواصل بين الشعوب والأمم https://t.co/zC8TGtlkSA
23 كانون الثاني (يناير) 2017